Little Robot ii

August 18, 2009

I found him at a second-hand store in Little Tokyo. I noticed him because he was the only thing in the toy section that looked up at me as I passed.

“Er… hello there…? ”

He said nothing. He only glared at me with his large LED eyes

“Have you lost your mother?” I said, thinking it was a small child in an elaborate but poorly-executed costume.

His big, squarish head went limp, and his eyes fell to the floor.

“You can’t lose what you never had”

I was very confused.

*

“I think you’ve got a lost kid in the back of the store” I told a clerk.

“No, no – that’s just a sad old robot.” He leaned in, “We just try to ignore him. He tends to bring the customers down.”

I turned around and saw his eyes peeking from behind a shelf of old National Geographic magazines.

“How much?” I asked.

“Heck, I’ll just give ‘im to you. I don’t even know how long he’s been sitting back there.”

I turned around and there he was, looking up at me in silence.

“Would you like to come home with me?”

He only nodded.

« Previous in series

Next in series »

2 Responses to “Little Robot ii”

  1. Uncle Tree said

    Awww, shucks. That’s really sweet!
    Cute and clever, too, “peeking out
    from behind a shelf…”. I couldn’t
    refuse a face like that, either.

    A nice little story you have going here.
    This isn’t bleak at all, but rather hopeful.
    Maybe you’ve stumbled onto something?

  2. Elliott Bell said

    There’s more, it’s just scribbled out in my journal for the time being.

    Anywho, I’m glad you like it.

Leave a Reply

